Today is Wednesday, So I am going to try and run and also go to the gym. I run about 24 blocks, it takes me about 20 minutes. The first time I ran my current route it took me about 30 minutes, so within two weeks I have shaved ten minutes off, at least. It feels great, but at the same time I know I need to start adding more distance to my route.
I am probably going to try a new route today. The route I have been running is getting shadier and shadier. Although I have my trusty pitbull running partner for protection and motivation, some bum called me a bitch on Monday at 52nd Street for no reason at all. I've already had my nose broken in fights twice this year, so I'm gonna try something else, if not, I can always go back to my regular route.
My route is 12 blocks up, 12 back on the El tracks. (Non Philadelphians: the El is our elevated subway that runs up market street. It is underground until 44th-ish where it rises above the street and onto, duh, elevated tracks)
Here is my normal weekly schedule:
M-run
T-off
W-run and gym
TH-off
F-run or gym
SA-run and gym
SU-run and/or gym
SU-run and/or gym
I know two days off might seem like a lot for some people. But it works for me. The reason I need those two days off is because if i overwork myself, I will give up completely, or I will get sick from overworking myself.
When I started going to the gym in March I was going every day, I realized quickly that 1. I wasnt doing anything else and 2. I hated the gym, not hated working out, just the whole gym expirience. I put up with it for a few weeks, then I got food poisoning and that gave me an excuse to skip the gym for a week, and then I didn't want to go back. It was very hard but I got myself motivated and back on my routine, but I realized I was slacking off at the gym. So I started to take a day or two off a week and I realized the day or two when I didnt go, I was anxious to get to the gym the next day and it made me want to go even more.
Does that even make sense?
Bottom line, give yourself a few days off, but not too many. Keep yourself motivated and remember who your doing this all for. YOURSELF.
Song of the Day:
Lights (bassnectar remix) by ellie goulding
No comments:
Post a Comment