Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Day 2




Today is Wednesday, So I am going to try and run and also go to the gym. I run about 24 blocks, it takes me about 20 minutes. The first time I ran my current route it took me about 30 minutes, so within two weeks I have shaved ten minutes off, at least. It feels great, but at the same time I know I need to start adding more distance to my route.








I am probably going to try a new route today. The route I have been running is getting shadier and shadier. Although I have my trusty pitbull running partner for protection and motivation, some bum called me a bitch on Monday at 52nd Street for no reason at all. I've already had my nose broken in fights twice this year, so I'm gonna try something else, if not, I can always go back to my regular route.








My route is 12 blocks up, 12 back on the El tracks. (Non Philadelphians: the El is our elevated subway that runs up market street. It is underground until 44th-ish where it rises above the street and onto, duh, elevated tracks)




Here is my normal weekly schedule:


M-run


T-off


W-run and gym


TH-off


F-run or gym


SA-run and gym
SU-run and/or gym




I know two days off might seem like a lot for some people. But it works for me. The reason I need those two days off is because if i overwork myself, I will give up completely, or I will get sick from overworking myself.




When I started going to the gym in March I was going every day, I realized quickly that 1. I wasnt doing anything else and 2. I hated the gym, not hated working out, just the whole gym expirience. I put up with it for a few weeks, then I got food poisoning and that gave me an excuse to skip the gym for a week, and then I didn't want to go back. It was very hard but I got myself motivated and back on my routine, but I realized I was slacking off at the gym. So I started to take a day or two off a week and I realized the day or two when I didnt go, I was anxious to get to the gym the next day and it made me want to go even more.




Does that even make sense?




Bottom line, give yourself a few days off, but not too many. Keep yourself motivated and remember who your doing this all for. YOURSELF.





Song of the Day:

Lights (bassnectar remix) by ellie goulding




Tuesday, May 10, 2011

"Allow me to (re)introduce myself"


Hello-
My name is Emmalee
23 years old, leo sign
white female
5'10'' 210(ish) pounds
lives in West Philly, PA












I decided about two months (March 2011) ago that I was gonna stop being such a loser and start getting my body in shape. When I met my boyfriend three years ago I was a size 9, in the process of losing more weight and I thought I looked pretty great. Then I guess I got comfortable and started eating way too much crap. I was a fast food junkie in rehab and he peer pressured me back in. The 50 pounds he lost, I gained. I have always been a big girl, even when I was younger, so the weight didnt really bother me and to be honest I didn't really notice.

Until we broke up. And I started to pack my crap to move out. I uncovered a tub of old (brand new) jeans that I had banished to the extra room and forgot about. I was excited to find all the new clothes until i tried to put a pair of size 9's on and i couldnt even get my leg all the way in the (wide leg) jeans. Bummer, to say the least.

After that, I started becoming obssessed with my weight, not knowing how to get back to being comfortable. I joined the gym, I started going about 4 times a week. It was okay..I enjoyed being active again, but I just didnt feel like I was doing it right.

I have access to a personal trainer at my gym, but I'm too proud/shy/anxious to want to utilize those services. So I'm doing it on my own. I've started running 4 times a week, on top of going to the gym about three times. And I've signed myself up for my first 5k in September 2011.

I have my nurse/dad, to help me out with any medical advice (shin splints- wah!), my aunts who run marathons on a regular basis, and of course, google for any additional questions I may have.

So, I'm using this blog to post about my hatred and love for physical fitness, any important stuff I find out, the songs(with links!) that are helping me through it all- and last but always least, my ghetto ass neighborhood.

I don't cook at all, yet.. If I do, I'll start posting recipes.




Thanks for reading!




Song of the day: PSA by Jay-Z on the Black Album.